En Quito nuevamente

Just over a month ago, I wrote a fresh blog post, sharing that I’d accepted a new job in Quito and would be moving back to Ecuador shortly. In the time since I wrote that post, I finished up my teaching at Vista Grande High School in Taos, NM, I moved all my possessions from Taos to Kansas, I spent an all-too-short week with my family in KS, and I packed up my things and flew to Ecuador. I actually arrived in Quito one week ago, and during this past week I was continually thinking that I should write a new post, but it was difficult to come up with the words to explain what my move back here as been like.

In this short week that I’ve been back, it’s amazing how comfortable and familiar it feels to be here once again. Upon arrival, I met my former host mom, Patti, and have been staying at her house – a different one than she had when I was here previously. My initial transition back to life in Quito hasn’t been too difficult so far, as I already am familiar with the layout of the city, the transportation, the local foods, etc. The biggest adjustment so far as been getting used to living in such a large city once again. Needless to say, Quito, Ecuador is a completely different place than Taos, NM, so my day to day life is entirely different as well.

Today I’m lucky to have a break from work, as today is a local holiday commemorating the Battle of Pichincha. The past four days, however, I’ve received tons of new information in the beginning of my training. It’s been really interesting to see the other side of the WorldTeach program, all of the behind-the-scenes things that I wasn’t aware of as a volunteer. As I learn about all of the responsibilities that I’ll have, I can tell that I’ll be super busy in this new position.

One of my first big tasks as Assistant Field Director will be going on a couple fo site visits to see how current volunteers are doing. This weekend I’ll be departing for a 3 day visit in Esmeraldas and then in a couple of weeks I’ll head to Ambato, my forming stomping grounds, to visit a couple of volunteers. These visits will be great, as I’ll see various parts of the country, but I know that they’ll also consist of a lot of work and not just sightseeing.

I’ve also been busy this week with a few things outside of work, including looking for an apartment. It looks like I’ve find one that I should move into in about a week or so, which is really exciting. And I also met up with Dave, a Goshen College friend here in Quito, the other night to hang out at a local pool hall, which was a blast.

Below are a few photos from this first week, and another post and more pics will be coming in the near future!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment