Cuentos de Quito: Dave Shenk

When I lived in Guayaquil, I found myself getting to know many new people and faces around the city. Like the security guards at my school who loved to talk about soccer and shoot the breeze, or the Cuban woman who owned the local laundromat, who always laughed at me when I dropped of clothes, but was always super friendly. As I met all those people, I came up with the idea of interviewing them and writing profiles of those people on this blog. That would’ve been a fantastic way to practice my Spanish, and connect with the local community. Unfortunately, I lost my job at SECAP soon after that idea arose, and I never had a chance to carry it out, since I moved to Ambato and had to adjust to a new city. So, a goal of mine for the next year is to profile some of the interesting people that I meet and get to know here in Quito. And before you read these posts, I’ve got to say that this idea has taken some inspiration from Kate Stoltzfus’ blog Yinzpiration, so you should go check that out. So, below is my first Cuentos de Quito post, which focuses on a familiar face, Dave Shenk:

Dave Shenk has lived in Quito for about two and a half years, serving during that time with Mennonite Missions Network and Virginia Mennonite Missions. He works at the Quito Mennonite Church, and his primary focus there is to direct a refugee project for refugees from Colombia. He is a Goshen College graduate, so I knew him through college, but we became better friends when I was a volunteer with WorldTeach. He graciously let me (and other friends) crash at his apartment when I was in Quito, and we spent some great time together at soccer games, climbing Rucu Pichincha, and just hanging out. Check out his answers to questions about Quito below, and feel free visit his blog as well.

Where are you originally from?

Harrisonburg, VA

How long have you lived in Quito?

Two and a half years

In which neighborhood of the city do you live?

El Inca Dammer.  A lot of people ask me why I live in this neighborhood because it’s not the nicest part of town, but I like it.  There are always lots of people out and about, tons of corner stores and interesting things to observe–some good and some not so good.  But living here, I feel in touch with down-to-earth life in Quito and the people of this neighborhood.

What is one thing that you love about calling Quito home?

I love the natural and historic beauty in and around Quito.

Do you have a favorite place in the city?

I’d have to say that my favorite places in the city are the parks.  Quito has awesome parks, the best of which I’d say is El Parque Metropolitano.  It’s a huge forest on the east edge of Quito where you can hike, bike, picnic and have fun.

Music that’s been on your playlist recently:

Recently, I’ve been listening to a lot of music on youtube.  Looking over my recent history, I’ve got some Silvio Rodriguez, Fleet Foxes, Sweet Honey in the Rock, Joe Arroyo and Lucky Dube.

Describe your ideal day in Quito:

I think my ideal day in the city would start off with breakfast in my hammock overlooking the city (with a hammock, breakfast in bed is a thing of the past).  Then I’d take off on a bike ride on the Chaquiñan trail which is a 20 kilometer trail that follows an old railroad route and winds its way through farms and small communities just outside of Quito.  From there, I’d eat a big bowl of encebollado (a fish soup) for lunch and have a cup of coffee at a beautiful coffee shop overlooking historic downtown Quito.  Then I’d cook something delicious for supper and share it with good people.  To end off the day, I’d play some bike polo with friends in a park near my house and eat a chicken shishkabob in the street.

What is one goal that you have for yourself in the near future?

I’d really love to explore the amazon region of Ecuador.  One dream of mine is to take a canoe trip down the Napo River to the Yasuni region of the jungle.  I’d also like to climb the snow-capped peak Cotopaxi, but sometimes that mountain strikes fear into me and I decide against it.

Do you have a favorite soccer team in Ecuador? If so, who and why?

My favorite Ecuadorian soccer team is La Liga Universitaria de Quito.  If I remember right, I arrived to Ecuador on December 5th, 2010.  It was almost Christmas time and at that point I was living with a host family who are strong Liga supporters.  So when I opened up my Christmas gift from them, I found a brand new Liga jersey.  Let me say that when your host family gives you a jersey, you gotta wear it.  And wearing a soccer jersey is not just an outer appearance, it reflects your inner loyalties.  So that pretty much settled it right then and there.  The best part of the story is that a few months later, Liga won the Ecuadorian cup and I got to celebrate with my host family and my new jersey by watching a bunch of Liga fans perform their victory ritual of bathing and dancing in a fountain in Quito on an ice cold night.  Since that day, I haven’t looked back and I still bring out the jersey on game day.

Where’s your favorite place to get lunch?

I love the little family owned restaurants that serve the $2-3 dollar lunches with soup, rice, meat, vegetables, fruit juice and dessert.  They are all over the place, the food is good and it’s a great deal.  I have a few favorite places near my house and work, but I also like trying new restaurants when I am out and about.

What is one thing you’d like to see change in Quito in the near future?

I really hope they tighten down on the buses that give off terrible black exhaust.  It’s no fun to see how pedestrians and bikers have to cover their faces at bus stops and stoplights as they are engulfed by a cloud of black smoke.  Breathing in that exhaust makes me want to vomit.  I’d love to see cleaner air in Quito.

Leave a comment